11 Comments
Jan 1, 2021Liked by Ryan Bradford

I don't do New Year resolutions, nor do I 'gift' only for Christmas. As for skateboarding, I tried 'home-made' style when I was young in eastern Pennsylvania; 2x4 and metal skate cut up & nailed to the board. No sidewalks & roads with size '00' (ought) gravel --- total disaster. Next occasion, living in Pacifica, roommate's young brother came up from San Diego with a 'hammerhead' board with true articulating trucks. Lived at the top of the hill, Pacific Avenue, drunk, tried the board, worked great til I hit a parked car. In early '90's I got involved with a skateboard company & events, having my DL 'lifted' I would skate to Huntington Beach from Anaheim, which was faster than riding the bus. I can affirm skateboarding 'saved' my life, not in being a talented skateboarder, but in giving me a much broader perspective. Give it a go, challenging, frustrating, but in time very satisfying.

Expand full comment
Jan 1, 2021Liked by Ryan Bradford

My best New Year’s resolution was when I decided to learn to spin a basketball on my finger. No self-improvement, organizing or losing weight. Just spin the ball. It was enlightening to have such a narrow focus. I can’t say that I mastered the skill, but I definitely got better. The other things probably managed themselves the way they do with or without resolutions. It feels like there is too much pressure in January to say, “I’m going to change X this year”; if we didn’t have a calendar, what else would prompt us into making changes that ultimately make our lives better?

Expand full comment
Jan 1, 2021Liked by Ryan Bradford

I got roller skates for my bday this fall so I would like to learn how to skate backwards on those! Write more pages for a book, make new songs, figure out what's the next big life step (grad school? moving?) and say no to others more so I can say yes to myself.

Expand full comment

Once I had a "bath a week" new years resolution, that was chill. Another year was karaoke at least once a month and that was as great as you can imagine ☺️ I did try to learn skateboarding one year but did not stick with it past going up and down my driveway. I wish I had, you should do it!

Expand full comment